FREE ebook: Getting Through the Storms of Life


Discover the Book - August 25

Christ's Wonderful Benefits

"Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls."
-Matthew 11:29, emphasis added

Once you are in the safe arms of Jesus, what will you find? You will find the perfect refuge, the One who has so much to offer all of us. The six cities of refuge named in  Joshua 20:7-9  are representative of six truths for those who flee to Christ, the safest place in the universe.

Each of the following Hebrew words that name the cities of refuge speak of one powerful facet of Christ's present ministry to us:

  • Kedesh means a "holy place" or "righteousness." Christ is our "holy place" and our "righteousness." He is the only refuge for us when we feel unclean, defiled, or guilty (1 Corinthians 1:30).
  • Shechem means "shoulder." Christ is our safe and strong "shoulder." He is the only refuge for us when we feel weary, exhausted, or stressed (Matthew 11:28-30).
  • Hebron means "fellowship." Christ is the only refuge for the lonely who feel left out, left behind, homeless, or forsaken (John 14:21).
  • Bezer means a "stronghold" or "fortress." Christ is our "stronghold," or "fortress." He is the only refuge for us when we feel helpless, fearful, and powerless (Matthew 28:18).
  • Ramoth means "exalted" or "heights." Christ is the only refuge for us when our hearts darken and we feel hopeless (Ephesians 2:6).
  • Golan means "separated." Christ is the only refuge for us when we struggle and feel weak when we are tempted (Hebrews 4:16).

Make a choice to live in hope: Each of these city names portray details of the refuge Christ offers for us to lay hold of every day, every hour, and every moment of our lives. Jesus is the closest, safest, and only refuge we can turn to when we are unclean, weary, homeless, helpless, hopeless, tempted, and fearful.

To continue reading this message, please click here.

For more from Discover the Book Ministries, please visit

Originally published August 25, 2012.